top of page
Designing on a Budget, Simple Solutions, and DIY

Blog

Visual Communication - Let me share!

I've been busy writing up cover letters for design job applications and found myself enjoying the actual writing of what I love about great design and why I'm passionate about it. I used to hate writing cover letters, but now that I'm applying for jobs that get me excited about doing what I love, the writing has flown out a lot smoother and quickly!


I then felt inspired to share a little more about why I have fallen in love with all things visual. I'm feeling a bit stir crazy right now as we wait for this new baby to arrive. I can't work and I just finished school - my head full of ideas and dreams and plans. I can't help but feel I'm spinning my wheels here in limbo land.


So let me just release some pent up excitement and share the things I've discovered over the last year and a half about visual communication, design, and myself.


I've always been aware that what I see affects me in some way. Sometimes a room makes me feel uncomfortable, sometimes it elevates me and I feel all fancy-schmancy, the layout of store can either invite me in to stay longer or make me want to run out screaming... What I finally decided a year and a half ago was to go study and learn how to deliberately solve issues with the layout, color, design, or font choice (hello typography and a new obsession!!) that would catch my eye and make me think "how can I help make this better?"


If I wrote about all the things I love in this blog post, it would be way too long. So I'm going to break it down into categories: Interior Design, Interior Styling/Decorating, Set Decorating, Production Design/Set Design, Graphic Design/Typography, Branding, Personal Styling, Visual Merchandising & Window Display.


Sometimes I still can't believe I was able to study all of these things while completing a single program at FIDM/Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising. I thought for the longest time I was scatter brained and un-focused or had too broad of any interest in what I loved. But it turns out all of those things fall under one title: Visual Communication. What we see communicates something to us. It can be positive or negative - but something is communicated. I am by no means and expert, but happily a "beginner" excited to share what I'm learning and discovering. Granted I've been studying these things for a handful of years - sometimes not even knowing I was "studying", just obsessively reading. So let me share this passion of mine.


Next blog I'll start writing about a specific category. I'm thinking Interior Decorating and styling (the first thing I fell in love with). Depending on baby's arrival, we'll see which comes first - blog or baby!



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Follow Along on Instagram

Follow Along!

bottom of page