top of page
Designing on a Budget, Simple Solutions, and DIY

Blog

Silly Saturday Finds

As I do a little soul searching on what I want to write about in this month of blogs I find that what brings me most joy is decorating with a sense of humor. I love the little quirky things that make you take a second look and ask "Wait, did I just see a...?!"


For example, as we are piecing together each room in our new place I decided to go with a quirky vintage nautical theme for our bedroom. It all started with Eric confessing he had always wanted a four poster bed (news to me after being together for 8 years!). I managed to find a four poster on OfferUp (I'm a little addicted to that app) and we got it and brought it home. Still not sure what direction I wanted to go with for our room I started browsing RugsUSA and to my delight came across this gem. It made me smile and remind me to not take life too seriously, so I bought it. It finally arrived yesterday and I couldn't be happier with my choice!


Thomas Paul Giant Octopus rug - Rugs usa
Boo! Thomas Paul - Giant Octopus

Since our business name is Pequod Studios, why not bring a little more vintage nautical nods to our home?! While on an errand at Bed Bath and Beyond I stopped in my tracks when I saw a white whale welcome mat! This was before I had discovered the Octopus (who needs a name, by the way) rug.


Bed Bath and Beyond White Whale Welcome Mat
The White Whale!

To bring you along my journey of decorating our bedroom in this vintage fashion, we came across a pretty sweet dresser that had the same blue hues in the rug and also the classic vintage vibe.


Dresser from Thrift Shop
Vintage Dresser

It's a bit funny finding that I'm drawn to a different style from when I was decorating our home in LA. But I guess it's to be expected. With the change in climate and the overall expansion of space from our little condo to this big ol' Craftsman, my furniture choices have shifted. Before it was very mid-mod, minimal, and clean lines. But with the temperature here damp and chill I can't help but want more cozy things and detailed classic pieces to hang out with on blustery evenings.


I managed to find some really great finds for our living room that I'll save for another blog. I'm excited to see these spaces slowly come together. And that's the key. I can't rush out and decorate everything all at once. For one, it's expensive, and secondly, it doesn't feel quite as organic and personal when everything is bought all at once. I think you need the time to live in your space and feel what it needs and what you need. Then you just keep your "radar" on when going out shopping or on errands or wherever. You never know what will magically appear that turns out to be "so perfect!".


But before I sign off, I have one last silly little decor find that made my heart smile:


Flying Pig Ornament
Flying Pig!

I found this little buddy at our local Grocery Outlet. Let's just say I have a special plan for him, and all his friends this holiday season...

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Follow Along on Instagram

Follow Along!

bottom of page