top of page
Designing on a Budget, Simple Solutions, and DIY

Blog

Our Imagination Loft

Well, nuts. I didn't get a chance to write yesterday. But I have a good reason! I was finally getting our work room, what we like to call the "Imagination Loft", in a more organized fashion. I didn't have time to put everything away where it needs to go, but it is a huge improvement and now I'm actually able to work in the space!

I'll share my "before" and, well, lets just call them "midway" photos. I still have more I want to do and decorate. I think it's important to have a special place that inspires you to create and feel productive.


Here's our "before" photo when we just unloaded all our art supplies, tools, and "what-not":


The early beginnings of our Imagination Loft - and little Ellie

I'm hoping to add book cases to the back wall behind those two chairs. I'd love to have a wall of all my design and decor books as well as my ever growing magazine collection. I love the idea of my own personal library. I'd like downstairs to be all our non-work related books and the upstairs to be our source of inspiration and how-to -s.

Along the south side of the house are two dormer windows that I've made into little spaces for Cordie (and someday Ellie) to use and play in while Eric and I work.


The little reading nook. Now for a bit of fixing up of that window!



The LEGO and block nook. For building anything you can imagine.

Yesterday, thanks to my father in-law, we were able to put up some shelves so I could finally organize some of my things:


A rough start, but a start nonetheless!

I'll hopefully get my real desk later this week. and it would be nice to have a little rug in that space too. I'm a big fan or Rifle Paper Co. (you can see some of their prints on my cork board that I covered) and they just came out with rugs... le sigh. Here's what I'm drooling over and perhaps I can treat myself for Christmas?


The Rifle Paper Co. rug I am swooning over.

My hope and goal is to create a lovely and inspiring space to invite my clients for a cup of tea while we go over their dreams and goals for what they want to design and decorate in their own home.


Perhaps someday I'll have beautifully photographed photos of my own home and some spaces feeling more completed, but I also don't mind sharing my humble beginnings (both as I am getting to know my new space and also as a beginning blogger). It's hard not to compare myself with other "home decor" bloggers. But as I begin this journey I am discovering who "Julisa the Designer" is. And that means exploring my own path and giving myself time.


So, thank you for joining me on this journey!



Oh! PS: There is a great magazine I love to read and get inspired while creating my own work space. Check it out if you can: Where Women Create. It would be a dream to be featured someday!


Where Women Create - Inspiring Work Spaces of Extraordinary Women

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Follow Along on Instagram

Follow Along!

bottom of page