top of page
Designing on a Budget, Simple Solutions, and DIY

Blog

Bringing our Insides Out


Styling books
Just a small handful of my ever growing collection

I can't help myself. I love interior decorating and design books and when I hear of a new one or I see one in a discount bin...Lord help me (and my Amazon wish list)!


I poured over them when I was younger just fascinated by all the colors and styles. I found myself having conflicting feelings because I loved wayyyyy too many styles (I thought that was a bad thing - turns out, it's not!) and I didn't know how to identify to just one. If someone asked me what my "style" was, it really just depended on the day. Thankfully, I find having a broad range of interests benefits me greatly when working with clients. I tap into their style and personality and try to see the world through their eyes. Then I go to work taking their loves and interests and bringing it all together in some cohesive look/story. That's one of my favorite parts! Bringing everything together in an interesting way while sneaking in some surprises too!


Lately I've been drawn to the more colorful daring decor. One of my favorite interior designers right now is Amanda Louise. I love all the color she infuses and it just makes me happy to see her work.


From Amanda's website. Go check it out!

Or check out Lucy Tiffany's Gorgeous Wallpapers!!!!



I've gone from having my vintage mid-mod phase to minimal danish style (still pretty similar), to boho chic, to urban jungle, and now I don't know what to call it, but I love color and pattern and humor. Thanks to fashion and design school, I finally got a better understanding of the design world and realized a lot of it is about having a sense of humor, taking risks, and remembering to not take yourself too seriously. It really frees up the mind to explore. Good thing I have all those years of comedy and improv in my back pocket.



There are a handful of websites dedicated to design and decor that I love to peruse. A few you may have already heard plenty about (and are quite popular) are:


Specific people I like to check in on are:

Emily Henderson (who I got to spend a day assisting her on a styling project! She's great.)

Life Unstyled (Emily Henson) (love her books!)

Newly noticed by me: Hommemaker (Orlando Soria)


I didn't intend to dress like the book and background that day.

Just bought Orlando's book Get It Together, and I love it. Such a great sassy sense of humor while learning about styling techniques.

I enjoyed the book signing that was held at West Elm here in LA the other weekend too. Orlando is a kick. I also didn't get the memo about the color scheme...or did I?


Anyhoo, this is just a small list of people I "check in on". I'd recommend following them on Instagram as well - which then automatically introduces you to the rabbit hole of designers out there and in a few short minutes you'll find yourself following another 30-50 artists before beginning to feel yourself questioning why you want to get into this industry in the first place when it seems plenty saturated enough and seems to have every niche covered and who do you think you are?! Just a chump with a wild passion for color and patterns and wanting to make everyone's life better by having nice living spaces that inspire them... so you go eat a bowl of fruit loops and tears and try to remind yourself you're a special unique snowflake and no other designer is exactly like you.... Ok, so maybe hold off on the Instagram.


On the plus side, my instagram feed is very beautiful to look through. I'm constantly feeling inspired and depressed at the same time. Thanks social media!


Anyways, I digress...


What I love about interior decorating and styling is that it can have a massive effect on your personal life. Everything down to the proper lighting or throw cushion. What we look at, effects us. Heard of phycology of color? Totally true! Do you notice you act differently in fancy restaurants than in an old grungy diner?


I don't believe it is too superficial to take notice of your home and want to spiff it up. It is investment in your well-being! And it honestly doesn't need to cost an arm and a leg. Just a trip to the thrift shop or flea market.

It's similarly not too superficial to take note of what you wear and having fun with your own personal style. If obsessively watching What Not to Wear growing up has taught me anything. But that's a blog for another day.


Much love,

JW



37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Follow Along on Instagram

Follow Along!

bottom of page